New management committee voted in at Roscrea RFC

The Roscrea RFC Annual General meeting had an unusual distinction this year as it was the first in the clubs history to be held online away from the club. The ramifications of the current pandemic has had many unfortunate consequences, no organisation has been immune to it. The AGM had suffered  numerous delays as a result of government guidelines on maximum numbers of attendees permitted in any venue. The clubs management committee had already moved to the online Zoom facility for all meetings and its seemed the logical solution to also hold this years AGM on the platform given the circumstances.

This would be Club president Brendan Hyland’s final official act in the position and he chaired the meeting with the usual decorum and enthusiasm we have grown accustomed to. In the Presidents address, he thanked all the committee members individually for their hard work and dedication throughout his tenure, highlighting eloquently his observations on what skills and talents each person had given voluntarily for the greater good of the club.¬† He paid particular tribute to the coaches and players who he considered to be the greatest and most important resource of all. He also thanked the parents of the underage and youths players for their support of the club. In his final parting words he wished the incoming committee members good fortune in their endeavours going forward.

Former Club Secretary Terry Farrelly was elected as the new club president and immediately thanked his predecessor for his dedication and endless commitment to the club during his two years chairing the committee.

Filling the remaining club Officers roles are former Child welfare Officer James Marks who is elected into the club secretary role vacated by the new President. Current Boys minis coach Ray Nangle is elected as Vice President. Keith Wallace and Denis Meagher are once again elected as joint club treasurers. Paul Davey remains as club PRO for the 2nd year and John Kirby reaumes the role of subscriptions secretary. Serena Cooper Brady continues as Club Covid Officer and Mark Kelly stays on as Data Protection officer. After sterling work in the position Jim Dwyer stays on as Club Strategic Development Officer. Aidan Kenneally will continue as house and ground manager. Also sitting on the managing committee is Director of Rugby Robert Dempsey who is currently overseeing the development of the game at the club, Boys minis coordinator Denis Delaney,  Girls Rugby Coordinator Ciara Maher, Former President Michael Talbot and Former Senior manager Enda Maher. Girls youths coach Mark Kenneally and Senior team head coach John Maher will also add their experience to the group. Club Captain Ger Stone stays on as Leinster Branch CCRO.

Current and former Presidents share a laugh at last years Club Christmas party.